Thursday: Calphalon

On many, many fronts I say “Save.  Buy the off-brand,” but when it comes to cookware and cooking accessories, I really believe it’s better to buy the good stuff.  It will save you time and money in the long run.

My favorite skillets are the Calphalon Contemporary Nonstick Skillets.

Calphalon Contemporary Non-stick cookware. Image hosted by Cooking.com

Key Features:

  • 3 Layer-Nonstick coating for interiors = easy clean-up and less need for oil or butter
  • Heavy-gauge, hard-anodized aluminum = even heating and lasting performance
  • Arched, double-riveted handles = handles stay cool while cooking and make pans easier to handle while cooking.
  • Oven-safe up to 450 degrees
  • Can be used on glass/ceramic stovetops.

Cons:

  • Not Refrigerator, Broiler, or Freezer Safe
  • Requires Hand Washing
  • Best used with Nylon, Wooden, or Coated utensils

Price for the set: $49.99 at Cooking.com.  Can be purchased with glass lids for $89.99.  Lids can be purchased separately, as well.  Available at other retailers.

______________________________________________

JenE’s Take:

I try to think of this way…I can put down $20 on two non-stick, dishwasher safe pans from Walmart or Target.  But in less than 5 years, the coating will begin to chip away and they will need to be replaced.   For about $50, I’ve got a set of pans that will last For.ev.er.  Put these on your Christmas or Birthday list.  Right now.  I can wait.

Now that you’re back, I’ll explain why Calphalon Contemporary Nonstick Skillets are amazing.  These pans will probably last my entire adult life.  Hard Anodized cookware is twice as hard as steel (but physically lighter to handle) and is abrasion and corrosion resistant. Plus, this type of cookware is non-porous, so things are much less likely to stick to it than stainless steel cookware; PLUS with these Calphalon pans, a nonstick coating has also been added.  With standard aluminum non-stick cookware, the nonstick coating breaks down over time by regular utensil use.  Every time your spatula scrapes the pan to flip an omelet, the coating is being worn down.  But with this stuff, it’s very improbable that coating will chip or flake.  Ever.  For more technical stuff about how Hard Anodized cookware is made and how safe it is, check out Wise Geek.

I love these pans.  They are a little deeper than other skillets or pans I own, so I can easily fit dishes with sauce or taller pieces, like meatballs.  Plus, the set includes the two sizes I use most often, 10″ and 12.”  That’s the perfect omelet size, but also great for two or three chicken breasts.  The non-stick interior means that I use little to no oils or butter but still get great results. And I can easily go from stovetop to oven.

I’ve found it’s best not to use metal utensils when cooking with these, not because they will chip or flake, but because it makes a fingernails-on-chalkboard kind of sound as you cook.  Eeek!  Also, the outside can turn a green streaky color after contact with dishsoap, but that is totally safe and normal.

These products are not exactly dishwasher safe. However, a little hot soapy water is all you need to clean the interiors of these pans.  Everything just slides right off.  The exteriors and handles may need a little more attention, but scrubbing is almost never necessary. All in all these are some of the easiest products for maintenance.

Thank you, Mom and Dad, for pointing me in the right direction when it comes to cookware.

For more info, check out Calphalon‘s own descriptions of this cookware.

I just wanted to note that I am not being paid by Calphalon.  This is not an official endorsement of all things Calphalon.  I just love these particular pans….and I am in favor of good cookware, any brand.

What brands do you love? Is there a piece of cookware or an appliance you can’t live without?  Share it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Angela R says:

    I totally agree – quality cookware is a necessary investment!

    Of course, I have to say, I’m a big fan of my one Pampered Chef pan – someday when I have an abundance of money and a need for new cookware, I will invest in an entire set of their Executive cookware – I’m seriously in love with my one 8-inch pan! A non-stick stock-pot would make me a happy girl, indeed!

Leave a Reply

