Gooey Butter Cake

My first day on my new campus I was introduced to a Missouri delicacy — Gooey Butter Cake!  For someone who can’t have chocolate anymore, this stuff is dessert heaven!

There are apparently two types of Gooey Butter Cake — Cream Cheese and Egg OR Butter and Sugar.  However, I used ALL of those ingredients and got a WONDERFUL cake.  It was a big hit for my family Christmas get together.

Just a warning, this dessert has two mixing steps.

Crust:

  • 1 box cake mix, yellow
  • One large egg
  • 8 Tbsp butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degree.  Lightly grease a 9×13 pan. Mix all ingredients above until there are no “just cake” spots.  I did this by dusting my hands with flour and then working it like dough, but you could also use an electric mixer.  Once all of the ingredients are combined, pat dough into the bottom of pan.  Dough can be patted up the sides a smidge to make a nice bowl for the filling.

Filling:

  • 8 oz softened cream cheese
  • 2 large eggs
  • 8 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 16 oz powdered sugar

In a new bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth.  For me, this was the hardest part.  Add eggs, butter, and vanilla and mix together.  Then add the powdered sugar and mix well.  I used a nice electric stand mixer to get everything mixed together.  It was amazing to see my glob of ingredients turn into a nice batter!

Pour batter over crust.  Bake 40 minutes to 1 hour.  Paula Deen is an advocate of the really gooey, oozy cake but I baked mine long enough that it was lightly set…gooey but not oozy.  While cake is still hot, top with powdered sugar, if you have any left.  I had a 32 oz box of powdered sugar, so half the box went into the cake and I had plenty left to top the cake with afterward.

This isn’t really meant to be eaten hot, so I baked mine after breakfast, covered with a cheese cloth, and let it set until dinner.

I didn’t have YELLOW cake mix.  I had Duncan Hines French Vanilla and it still turned out fantastically! I think you could sub in almost any cake mix (butter, white, vanilla, tres leche, angel food) and still get a yummy cake.

This also a versatile recipe:  Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake, Chocolate Gooey Butter Cake, Fruit Filled Gooey Butter Cake.  Go!  Be inspired!

OH!  and I don’t have pictures…but this isn’t necessarily a pretty cake…just an incredibly yummy one!

Leave a Reply

